Town of Hoosick

   Show MENU


News & Announcements   |   Links   |   News Archive


Joyce Brewer Honored as PTA Founders' Day Award Winner

The Hoosick Falls Central School PTA annually seeks nominations to honor community members who make outstanding contributions to the well-being of children and youth. This year's award recipient was Joyce Brewer who has been active in Girl Scouts and the greater community for over 14 years.

Mrs. Brewer was honored at the PTA's year-end celebration on June 19, 2014. In addition to her recognition as someone who makes a difference in our community, Mrs. Brewer was awarded $100 to give to a children's association/organization of her choice. Mrs. Brewer chose divide her award between the Hoosick Falls Girl Scout Service Unit 155 and the HACA Food Pantry’s Back To School Boost.

Mrs. Brewer was nominated by, Sharon Sigot, a PTA member at HFCS and fellow Girl Scout leader, who said, "Joyce deserves this award because she is always giving and volunteering her time both in school and in the Hoosick Falls community. Joyce has been involved with Girl Scouts since her daughters were young, first at the troop level then as Community Chair. She is very active with the performing arts at HFCS. She chaperones them at events such as Carnegie Hall, the New York State Fair, and Six Flags. She helps publicize the events by putting up posters, creating Facebook events, and setting out programs. She also buys and makes decorations for events such as the cabaret. Just as with Girl Scouts she does the behind the scenes work and the kids and parents see a flawless event. She is also active in her church with the vestry and choir, with HACA, and at town meetings."

The PTA Founders' Day (February 17, 1897) is the story of a group of lay people, a few thousand at first, now millions throughout the land, who make it their task to build a world of happy promise for children. In observing Founders’ Day, members pay tribute to the founders and to other PTA leaders. Recipients of this award are recognized as people who carry on that “happy promise for children.” Past recipients of this PTA award are: Kenneth Baker, Terri Burdick, Cathy Corcoran, Jim Cormier, Bill Gaillard, Dawn Gilbert, Joseph Holloway, Penny Holmes, Jason Jansen, Steve Johnson, Helen Levandowski, Leo McGuire, Lillian Mitchie, the staff at Morning Star Daycare and Preschool, T.J. Rasmus, Frank Redden, Virginia Skorupski, Ike Stevens, Marion Stevens, Greg Wilson, Aelish Nealon, Helen Hemendinger, Dale Ninivaggi, Father Tom Zelker and Sharon Sigot.